Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Memory Leaks


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Slyxdexic

Slyxdexic

    MT's Resident Medic

  • MD Members
  • 1182 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Carolina, U.S.
  • IGN:TheWoodenLeg


Posted 31 December 2009 - 09:57 PM

This is the first problem I've had in a long time that requires help.

Something's happened in the past couple days that has caused a massive memory leak while playing TF2, bringing my frames-per-second to its knees for a few minutes before restoring itself to normal as if nothing had happened. Then it repeats itself over and over again. The Task Manager shows the CPU amount used by hl2.exe to be well over 500k when it's having this fit. When at rest, it only consumes about 110k)

I've retraced my steps and uninstalled EVERY program i've installed in the last month in an attempt to fix this issue. I've even uninstalled/reinstalled TF2. The problem still remains.

I'm going to run a virus scan overnight to see if maybe I've got something, but in the meantime, what are some ways to fix these types of memory leaks?

Edited by Slyxdexic, 31 December 2009 - 10:04 PM.

Posted Image

I'm back and representin' Galicia.

(Lvl 44 Brawler) TheWoodenLeg
(Lvl 50 Cleric) Lv3Dispenser

THAT'S RIGHT I MADE TWO CLERICS
WHY?
BECAUSE I'M CLINICALLY INSANE, THAT'S WHY!




Please support our sponsors and mapletip. Don't block ads if you want mapletip to survive! If you do not want to have ads, simply Subscribe to mapletip today!

#2 Stephen

Stephen

    Brrr!

  • MapleTip Webmaster
  • 12225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Free Market <1>
  • IGN:AimingHigh


Posted 01 January 2010 - 09:59 AM

Sounds like problem with tf2, why not just contact customer support? HL2.exe generally consumes 800 megabytes of RAM for me.

#3 Slyxdexic

Slyxdexic

    MT's Resident Medic

  • MD Members
  • 1182 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Carolina, U.S.
  • IGN:TheWoodenLeg


Posted 01 January 2010 - 11:14 AM

Well that's what I thought at first, until I noticed that the leak started affecting a couple other games in the same way, thus beginning my uninstall spree of all things downloaded in the last month (completely forgot to mention that).

Posted Image

I'm back and representin' Galicia.

(Lvl 44 Brawler) TheWoodenLeg
(Lvl 50 Cleric) Lv3Dispenser

THAT'S RIGHT I MADE TWO CLERICS
WHY?
BECAUSE I'M CLINICALLY INSANE, THAT'S WHY!


#4 Soaa-

Soaa-

    Ed's body... it's mine...!

  • MT Awards Creator
  • 5433 posts
  • Location:The City Under
  • IGN:UnluckysparX


Posted 01 January 2010 - 07:16 PM

Are you sure it's not an overheating problem?
Behold, I will corrupt your seed,
and spread dung upon your faces

Malachi 2:3

Still love you, muh friends. <3

#5 Slyxdexic

Slyxdexic

    MT's Resident Medic

  • MD Members
  • 1182 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Carolina, U.S.
  • IGN:TheWoodenLeg


Posted 01 January 2010 - 07:54 PM

I would assume that if it were, it would affect more than the CPU usage of two programs, but I'll look the fan over tomorrow. Til then I'll just remind myself to turn my rig off for the night before bed.

Posted Image

I'm back and representin' Galicia.

(Lvl 44 Brawler) TheWoodenLeg
(Lvl 50 Cleric) Lv3Dispenser

THAT'S RIGHT I MADE TWO CLERICS
WHY?
BECAUSE I'M CLINICALLY INSANE, THAT'S WHY!


#6 Stephen

Stephen

    Brrr!

  • MapleTip Webmaster
  • 12225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Free Market <1>
  • IGN:AimingHigh


Posted 02 January 2010 - 10:29 AM

A memory leak is simply the program not releasing memory.. This is equivalent to not releasing the water in a dam, eventually it'll fill up and overflow.

If a virus attached to the process, then it'll consume large amounts of memory. But I doubt a virus has attached itself and I doubt that it's related to overheating.

However, it can be related to bad programming.

Your FPS drop can be releated to overheating though. Drop the symptom of high memory usage and start investigating causes for FPS drops. Generally, your FPS won't drop as long as you've still got some memory. Your FPS is related to the amount of sprites being drawn at a single frame, if there are too many, it cannot render within a single second.

So yes, check for overheating or bad drivers. But I highly doubt it's related to the memory.

#7 Stephen

Stephen

    Brrr!

  • MapleTip Webmaster
  • 12225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Free Market <1>
  • IGN:AimingHigh


Posted 02 January 2010 - 02:55 PM

http://forums.steamp...d.php?t=1093560

#8 Slyxdexic

Slyxdexic

    MT's Resident Medic

  • MD Members
  • 1182 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Carolina, U.S.
  • IGN:TheWoodenLeg


Posted 02 January 2010 - 06:07 PM

give it a shot, and it actually did work. I played for 2 hours and not a single FPS fit. I'll need to to do more testing before I can finalize this problem as solved, but it's definitely in the process of becoming solved. Ty for that topic.

Haha disregard that, it didn't work worth a damn.

Edited by Slyxdexic, 02 January 2010 - 08:21 PM.

Posted Image

I'm back and representin' Galicia.

(Lvl 44 Brawler) TheWoodenLeg
(Lvl 50 Cleric) Lv3Dispenser

THAT'S RIGHT I MADE TWO CLERICS
WHY?
BECAUSE I'M CLINICALLY INSANE, THAT'S WHY!


#9 harviksterwen

harviksterwen

    Snails

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • IGN:I dont haven't play


Posted 21 February 2011 - 09:04 AM

Additional memory refers to the computer's memory, but there seems to be a steady loss of condition. Usually the memory leak is the root cause of one or more of the event programme. In principle, the programme fails to release the memory that is no longer usable for any memory back to the folder.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users