32 replies to this topic

#1 Bellatrixa

Bellatrixa

B> Mistletoe

• Official Member
  • 1085 posts
  • IGN:Bellatrixa/Hollis

Posted 31 March 2008 - 02:32 AM

As I've spent most of my time on Maplestory these past few months, I decided to make a (not-so) little guide to raising an I/L mage. Please bear in mind that I'm an eMS player, therefore most of my guide is focused on the areas and quests that are available in Maplestory Europe. Additional training spots for Global are included where I can, although I haven't used them personally, therefore have no opinion of their training value.

For those of you who are total beginners, let's have a look at the pros and cons of Ice-Lightning.

Why Choose a Mage?

Pros

- Great meso makers when played properly
- Fun to play as
- Ranged attacks
- Have great support skills

Cons

- Have little HP despite Magic Guard so can die a lot early on if not careful
- MP potions cost more than Health Potions
- Low damage compared to other classes
- Training spots can be limited due to elemental damage dependancy

Why Choose Ice/Lightning?

Pros

- Best mob attacks in second and third jobs
- Can earn a LOT with good item drops at training spots
- Can freeze enemies to cut down on damage recieved, therefore saving mesos on potions

Cons

- Thunderbolt can consume a LOT of MP VERY fast
- El Nath is pretty much out of bounds until 3rd job
- Few monsters who are weak against lightning

Luk or Lukless?

Pros

- Higher damage as all AP goes into Int
- One set of equips which last a long time
- Faster training due to more damage
- Can train at higher level enemies faster thanks to hjigher damage

Cons

- Lose 10% exp when you die (demoralising!) as opposed to the 5% of a Luk mage
- One set of equips meaning you have nothing to level for
- Lukless mage equips are still pretty expensive in eMS at higher levels. Probably will drop a bit once we get Maple weapons
- All lukless mages look the same so NX is the only answer to looking "pretty"